September 25, 2008

FIFA 2009 Soundtrack Track List announced over a month ago

In what is some of the spottiest journalism this side of the conservative blogosphere, I completely forgot to mention the announced soundtrack for EA's FIFA 2009 game (alternately known as the Marriage Killer).

EA has a long tradition of sneaking some real gems into their soundtracks (08 - !!! "All My Heroes Are Weirdos", CSS "Off the Hook"; 06 - LCD Soundsystem "Daft Punk Is Playing At My House"; 05 - Air "Surfing on a Rocket", New Order "Blue Monday") and 2009 is no exception to this.

EA is rocking more CSS, throwing in some Black Kids, Hot Chip, Lykke Li, MGMT, the Fratellis, the Kooks, and the Ting Tings. The game itself promises to be awesome, hopefully providing as many weekend killing moments as the previous incarnations, while still allowing me the opportunity to pretend that Manchester City will win the league every single year.

September 5, 2008

Ra Ra Riot has a way of making me feel as if all is right with the world. And not that there's anything wrong with Tokyo Police Club, but this new remix of "Juno" featuring Ra Ra Riot is the only way they could possibly be any better.

Tokyo Police Club also recently stopped by Spinner's LA studios to record an Interface Session. Check it out here.

Interface Session track listing:
1. Tessellate
2. The Harrowing Adventures Of...
3. Centennial
4. The Nature Of The Experiment


My favorite woman in rock/obsession, Jenny Lewis, has pushed the release date on her newest solo album Acid Tongue from September 9th to September 23rd. I was able to call 1-888-717-ACID (2243) and hear the title track, however there are quite a few other ways to do so (including one following this little bit). Don't go expecting to hear The Watson Twins backing her up this time, though; instead, Lewis nabbed Elvis Costello, M Ward and Zooey Deschanel of She & Him, Jonathan Rice and Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes to accompany her throughout the album. I just hope this is a hell of a lot better than the last Rilo Kiley album. Oh, and one last thing, you can also hear "The Next Messiah" (track 3) on Lewis' Myspace.

Acid Tongue track listing:
1. Black Sand
2. Pretty Bird
3. The Next Messiah
4. Bad Man's World
5. Acid Tongue
6. See Fernando
7. Godspeed
8. Carpetbaggers
9. Trying My Best to Love You
10. Jack Killed Mom
11. Sing a Song for Them


Vampire Weekend's "Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa" ha been remixed by Esau Mwamwaya + Radioclit for their upcoming collaborative release. The record is set to include guest "apperances" by M.I.A., BLK JKS, Santogold and Marina of Bonde Do Role.

Listen to the Vampire Weekend remix here or download it via iTunes.

ALSO, don't forget! Vampire Weekend will be here in St. Louis on Wednesday, September 10th at The Pageant.

September 4, 2008

What else is there to say?

So, what do you think? Irony or no irony? Either way, it's a great song, great band and...I'll let you decide how you feel about the Obama campaign. I think it's easy for people to tell where I stand, though. :)


Also interesting in the world of politics and things that are good; Michael Chabon is interviewed by Jeffrey Goldberg of The Atlantic. Jewish humor alert!


Oklahoma is in the process of attempting to choose an "official state song". I don't really know what to say about it because I have so much to say about the hilarity involved in this and I also don't have much to say at the same time because...well, what can you say? Everywhere I've looked has no mention of who can or can't vote, so go vote your little hearts out for The Flaming Lips because not only are the best band on there...the other choices are pretty terrible.